SEPTEMBER 26–29, 2018

Harris Award 
Zlatan Alagic, MD, Karolinska University Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden for
Implementation of an Ultra-low-dose CT-protocol for Extremities: Initial Experience with 106 Subjects?

The best oral presentation of original research by a trainee may be considered for the John H. Harris, MD Award. Presenters must be in an accredited radiology teaching program. The recipient will receive a plaque and $300. 

Novelline Award 
Charlotte Chung, MD, PhD, Emory University Hospital, Atlanta, GA, for
Updated Imaging-based Selection Criteria Guiding Endovascular Intervention for Ischemic Stroke

The best educational poster presentation by a trainee may be considered for the Robert A. Novelline, MD Award. Presenters must be in an accredited radiology teaching program. The recipient will receive a plaque and $300. 

Paper Presentation Winners

Summa Cum Laude
Michael Repplinger, MD, PhD, University of Wisconsin – Madison, for
Diagnostic Accuracy of MR for the Evaluation of Acute Female Pelvic Pathology

Magna Cum Laude
Tarek Hanna, MD, Emory University Hospital, Atlanta, GA, for
Emergency Department Clinical and Imaging Superusers: A Population-Based Multi-Payer Claims Analysis

Cum Laude
Keith Herr, MD, Emory University Hospital, Atlanta, GA, for
Diagnostic Radiology Resident Perspectives on Fellowship Training and Career Interest in Emergency Radiology

Certificate of Merit 
Ellen Sun, MD, Brigham Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA, for 
Virtual monoenergetic Dual-energy CT for Evaluation of Hepatic and Splenic Lacerations

Poster Presentation Winners

Summa Cum Laude
David Tso, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA, for
The Mechanics of Cardiac Gated CTA in the ED for Suspected Aortic Dissection

Magna Cum Laude
Peter Schaefer, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA, for
Dual Energy CT Enabled Bone Subtraction in the Diagnosis of Intracranial Pathology

Cum Laude
Ling Chen Chien, MD, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA, for 
Urine Trouble: Imaging of High-Grade Renal Trauma with Surgical Correlation

Certificate of Merit 
Amanda Scott, MD, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, Philadelphia, PA, for 
Imaging of Acute Pancreatitis in the Emergency Department: Review of Clinical and Management Implications from a Medical and Surgical Perspective

Certificate of Merit 
Benjamin Hirshberg, MD, Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, MI, for 
Emergent Rare Causes of Ureteral and Bladder Obstruction

Cases-of-the-Day Winners

Overall Highest Scores (tie):

Matthew Shapiro, MD
Augusta Health
Fishersville, VA

Jacek Strzelczyk, MD
St. Boniface General Hospital
Winnipeg, Canada

Daily High Scores:
Wednesday: Jacek Strzelczyk, MD
Thursday: Ryan Key, MD
Friday: Alex Aubin, MD
Saturday: Maeke Scheerder, MD  

2018 ASER Fellows:

Ferco H. Berger, MD
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Toronto, ON, Canada

Suzanne T. Chong, MD, MS
University of Michigan Health System
Ann Arbor, MI

Robin D. Hines, MD
Inland Imaging
Spokane, WA

Jamlik-Omari Johnson, MD
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA

Manickam Kumaravel, MD, FRCR
Memorial Hermann Red Duke Trauma Institute
UTHealth McGovern Medical School
Houston, TX

Ken F. Linnau, MD, MS
UW Medicine Harborview Medical Center
Seattle, WA

Savvas Nicolaou, MD, FRCPC
Vancouver General Hospital
Vancouver, BC, Canada 

The ASER Gratefully Acknowledges the Support of the Following Companies:


Canon Medical Systems USA, Inc.

International Medical Solutions Inc.


Philips Healthcare

Siemens Healthineers



American College of Radiology

Envision Physician Services

Fairfax Radiological Consultants

International Medical Solutions Inc.


Mobius Imaging

Philips Healthcare

Radiology Partners

Siemens Healthineers


CME Credits by Modality
To download a spreadsheet detailing the various modalities covered in the ASER Annual Meeting presentations, please click here. For reporting purposes, please note that 1 hour of instruction is equal to 1 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. Credits are rounded to the nearest .25 (15 minutes).

About the ASER Annual Scientific Meeting…
The first annual meeting of the society was held in Boston in 1990. The Annual Scientific Meeting has proven to be the open forum for radiologists, emergency physicians, trauma surgeons, technologists, and others interested in providing innovative solutions in the emergency setting. More than two hundred professional registrants attend. The proceedings are published and CME credit is provided.